About District

Sitapur is famous in India due to its mythological & historical background. There is no official description for its name but as the traditional sayings Sitapur is referred as Lord Ram’s wife Sita.  It is said that she stayed with Lord Ram at this place during a pilgrimage. Afterwards, King Vikramaditya established this city in the memory of Sita, gave the place the name, Sitapur. According to the Abul Fazal’s Aaina Akbari this place was called Chatyapur or Chitiapur during the reign of Akbar.

According to ancient history, this place was included in the Kingdom of Shishunag of Magadh. After the fall of Nanda & Mauryas this area came into the power of Shunga dynasty. Some clay statues of Shunga style were found in tehsil Sidhauli. Similarly, some small statues of Gupta period were found in Badesar tehsil Mishrik.

Holy place of Naimisharanya, situated on the left bank of Gomti, is a pilgrimage where Maharishi Ved Vyas created Purans. There are signs of a large University in post Vedic period where 88000 Rishis gained knowledge of Shastras. Shaunakji was the Vice Chancellor of this University. Pandhavas came to Namish during exile. Lord Ram & Sita bathed at this pious place to wash off the stigma of Ravana’s death. It is said that Sita proved her purity & assimilated in the pious soil of Namish.

Sitapur district was always politically awakened. In the first Freedom Fight in 1857 this district played an important role. During 1857 Arya Samaj & Seva Samiti- had established their organisations in the district. In 1921 thousands of people of Sitapur took part in Gandhiji’s Non-Cooperation Movement. Gandhiji came to Sitapur in 1925 & appealed to cooperate in the Freedom Movement at Lalbagh. many National leaders- Maulana Mohammad Ali, Pandit Motilal, Pt. Jawaharlal were also present.

The district is divided into seven tehsils namely Sitapur, Biswan, Mishrikh, Laharpur, Mahmudabad ,Sidhauli and Maholi and 19 blocks namely Pisawan, ,Maholi, Misrikh,, Machhrehta, Gondlamau, Ailiya, Hargaon, Parsendi, Khairabad, Laharpur, Behta, Reusa, Sakran, Biswan, Pahala Mahmudabad, Rampur Mathura, Kasmanda and Sidhauli. There are 2348 census villages and 1588 Gram Panchayats in the district.

The district is divided into four Lok Sabha seats:

  • Dhaurahra Lok Sabha (PC-29) constituency includes Maholi and Hargaon Vidhan Sabha seat from Sitapur district.
  • Sitapur Lok Sabha (PC-30) constituency includes Sitapur, Laharpur, Biswan, Sewta and Mahmoodabad Vidhan Sabha
  • Mishrikh Lok Sabha (PC-32) constituency includes Mishrikh seat from Sitapur district.
  • Mohanlalganj Lok Sabha (PC-34) constituency includes Sidhauli Vidhan Sabha seat from Sitapur district.

These nine Vidhan Sabha constituencies in District are:

  • 145- Maholi
  • 146- Sitapur
  • 147- Hargaon
  • 148- Laharpur
  • 149- Biswan
  • 150- Sevata
  • 151- Mahmoodabad
  • 152- Sidhauli
  • 153- Mishrikh

Famous Personalities

  • Capt. Manoj Pandey
  • Raja Todar Mal
  • Kavi Narottam Das
  • Achary Narendra Dev
  • Maulana Fazle Haq Khairabadi
  • Riaz Khairabadi
  • Jawala Parsad Warq

Parks and Picknic Spots

  • Ilasiya Bal Vanodyan (Ilasia Park)
  • Mahaveer Udyan (Tikunia park)
  • Sarojini Vatika
  • Vaidehi Vatika
  • Neelgaon Picnic spot